BCCI Announced India Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022

ICC T20 World Cup

Mohammed Shami Back In The Reserves

BCCI on Monday announced the India squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022. The tournament, scheduled to be played in Australia with the qualifier matches from 16 October to November 13. Total of 45 matches will be played during the ICC T20 World Cup 2022.

India will play their first match of the T20 World Cup 2022 on October 23 against Pakistan at Melbourne Cricket Ground. India is part of group 2 in the tournament with teams like Pakistan, South Africa, and Bangladesh in their pool.

ICC T20 World Cup

Rohit Sharma To Lead the Team

India Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, B Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

Standby players – Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar

Group 1 includes teams like England, Australia, New Zealand and Afghanistan. Two winning teams will advance from group to the qualifier round. Qualifier round includes teams like Sri Lanka, Namibia, UAE, Netherlands, West Indies, Scotland, Zimbabwe, and Ireland.

In the qualifier round, Sri Lanka, Namibia, UAE, and the Netherlands are part of group A. West Indies, Scotland, Zimbabwe, and Ireland are part of group B. After the qualifier round, the top two teams from each group will join the super 12 round.

ICC T20 World Cup

Players for India Squad Men’s ICC T20 World Cup 2022:


Rohit Sharma (C) – Age 35

KL Rahul (VC) – Age30

Virat Kohli – Age 33

Suryakumar Yadav – Age 31

Shreyas Iyer – Age 27 (Reserves)

All Rounder:

Deepak Hooda – Age 27

Hardik Pandya – Age 28

Ravichandran Ashwin – Age 35

Axar Patel – Age 28

Harshal Patel – Age 31

Batsman / Wicket Keeper:

Rishabh Pant (WK) – Age 24

Dinesh Karthik (WK) – Age 37


Bhuvneshwar Kumar – Age 32

Jasprit Bumrah – Age 28

Yuzvendra Chahal – Age 32

Arshdeep Singh – Age 23

Mohammed Shami – Age 32 (Reserves)

Deepak Chahar – Age 30 (Reserves)

Ravi Bishnoi – Age 22 (Reserves)

ICC T20 World Cup

In T20 World Cup 2021, Australia defeated New Zealand by 7 wickets to win their first ever T20 World Cup title. Australia is the defending champions of the tournament.

Recently India faced a poor performance in Asia Cup 2022, where they didn’t reach to the final. The Rohit Sharma-led side lost back-to-back matches against Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the super four round, which resulted in their elimination from the way to the final.

Sri Lanka won the Asia Cup 2022 title after defeating Pakistan in the final. Ahead of ICC T20 World Cup 2022, India will also play a T20I series against Australia and South Africa.

Join Deltin7 now to get 100% Betting Bonus