IND vs AUS: India Surpassing Pakistan Becoming The Most Team To Win T20Is In A Calendar Year

ind vs aus

IND vs AUS on Sunday, September 25, at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium

ind vs aus

India National Cricket Team created history by surpassing arch-rivals Pakistan National Cricket Team and becoming the team to win most T20 Internationals (T20Is) in a calendar year.

Rohit Sharma-led India achieved the sensational milestone on Sunday, September 25, at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad by defeating Aaron Finch-led Australia by 6 wickets to clinch the series victory by 2-1.

The Men In Blue have won 21 T20Is in 2022, which is the most by a team in a calendar year. Previously, the record was held by the Men in Green, who won 20 T20Is in 2021.

The Men In Blue started off the year with the whitewash over West Indies and Sri Lanka at home. In June, India managed to draw the 5-match T20I series against South Africa 2-2.

ind vs aus

Under the guidance of Hardik Pandya and VVS Laxman, the Men In Blue defeated Ireland in their own backyard by 2-0. In July, Rohit and Co. registered a 2-1 series win over Jos Buttler-led England National Cricket Team in their own territory.

Also, the Men In Blue won by 4-1 in the five-match T20I series against West Indies National Cricket Team. After that, India didn’t have a good run in the Asia Cup 2022 as they failed to reach the final and finished third in the Super 4 stage.

Rohit Sharma Equals MS Dhoni’s Record To Win Most T20I Matches As Skipper In A Calendar Year

Amongst India’s 21 T20I wins, Rohit has led the side in 15 games. Also, Hardik Pandya has won 3 games and Rishabh Pant have won 2 games. KL Rahul won one game as a captain in the Asia Cup 2022.

With 15 T20I wins in 2022, Rohit equalled Dhoni’s record of most wins by an Indian captain in T20I format in a calendar year.

ind vs aus

Most T20I Wins By India Skipper In A Calendar Year:

15: Rohit (2022)

15: MS Dhoni (2016)

08: Rohit (2018)

08: MS Dhoni (2012)

Overall, Rohit has won 33 T20Is out of 42 as a skipper and his win percentage is 78.57, which is the best amongst all Indian captains.

Join Deltin7 now to get 100% Betting Bonus

sports news page